The Missouri District of the LCMS
HomeAbout UsDistrict ServicesEducationFamily LIfe and YouthMissionsAssisting and encouraging God's people in Missouri

Announcements
Announcements
  LYF Nominations OPEN
  DMin Program at Concordia Seminary, St. Louis
Conferences
  Concordia Plans Pre-Retirement Workshop
  Senior High Retreat Registration OPEN
Events
  Quarterlife Retreat
  Future Church Worker Day
  RSTM Engaging Your Community Workshop



660 Mason Ridge Center Drive
Suite 100
St. Louis, MO 63141
Ph: 314.590.6200
Fax: 314.590.6201

Elder Training

2011 Gatherings

Well-functioning elder ministries are vital to pastors. Elders are to support the pastor in his ministry, providing him with encouragement, making sure that his family is doing well, being extra eyes and ears when scheduling worship services, assisting with specific duties such as communion assistants, assisting with the spiritual stewardship of member souls and a host of other possibilities.

Some topics we'll be addressing:

How an elder can personally prepare himself for service.
Ways to involve non-elders in visitation, ministry of compassion and encouragement.
Ideas for home visitation.
Simple ways an elder can visit everyone on his responsibility list.
How to use the phone and computer to stay in touch with members.
How to increase the number of members in service within the congregation.
Prayer as an important part of elder ministry.
Use of servant events.
How to effectively recruit future elders.
Group sharing.

Date

Time

Church

Church City

Tuesday, Sept. 6

7-9 p.m.

Trinity

Jefferson City

Thursday, Sept. 8

7-9 p.m.

St. Paul

St. Joseph

Monday, Sept. 12

7-9 p.m.

Concordia

Kirkwood

Tuesday, Sept. 13

7-9 p.m.

Holy Trinity

St. Clair

Wednesday, Sept. 14

7-9 p.m.

Immanuel

Hannibal

Thursday, Sept. 15

7-9 p.m.

Peace

Kansas City

Monday, Sept. 26

7-9 p.m.

Zion

Moberly

Thursday, Sept. 29

7-9 p.m.

Concordia

Sikeston

Tuesday, Oct. 4

7-9 p.m.

Zion

Harvester

Thursday, Oct. 6

7-9 p.m.

Timothy

St. Louis

Monday, Oct. 17

7-9 p.m.

SPIFE

Concordia

Tuesday, Oct. 18

7-9 p.m.

Trinity

Cole Camp

Monday, Oct. 24

7-9 p.m.

St. Paul

Farmington

Saturday, Oct. 29

2-4 p.m.

Faith

Springfield

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact Dr. Ralph Geisler for more information.

Page Last Updated: 8/29/2011 2:20:33 PM

News: